The Making of an Exhibition.

It’s been a long hard slog of a month but finally the exhibition (my first solo show and book launch) of ‘Hand Drawn Maps’ is coming together…

I started planning the window display in late May. I wanted something to stand out, advertise the exhibition and get visitors in as the show only lasts for a few days….

These were the thumbnail prototypes for the window display:

 

I then chose a design in consultation with the gallery and created a very basic mock up on Photoshop…

A mock up of the window installation for the gallery using Photoshop.

Most of the signs had already been created but I had some hand lettering to do and some tweaking…

Red arrow looking slightly wonky before it got a strong and stable backing…

 

A ‘hand’ sign done by hand…

A sign I gave up on because of it’s illegibility….

That’s better. Something a little cleaner…

Next a few hours moving signs around till I got the best arrangement. It took longer than I expected and taking into account the gallery framing system, I used some easels and a wooden box….

Planning how the window installation will look in the studio…

Paperwork needed to be sent to the Gallery including a price list and my artist’s blurb. All done along with the poster and invite, also designed in late May. The latter were sent out to my mailing list and to free online listing sites locally alongside Facebook, Instagram (@helencannart) and Twitter (@helen_cann) in early June.

From this, I got featured in a lovely preview piece written by Peter James Field for the Brighton Source.

Prints had to be printed and framed images protectd with bubble wrap. Some trusty friends were organised to help me carry my framed pictures, prints and window installation signs to the gallery. They were amazing and on one of the hottest days of the year…

Trusty friends…

So now it’s two days before the exhibition. Advertising – check. Marketing – check. Delivery of artwork to the gallery – check. Paperwork to the Gallery – check. Beer bought for friends – check.

Fingers crossed that the show goes fine and is a fitting launch for ‘Hand Drawn Maps’. And hopefully more beer will be enjoyed in celebration.

Hand Drawn Maps

22nd-25th June

O N C A Gallery, 14 St George’s Place, Brighton, BN1 4GB

www.onca.org.uk

 

Leave a Reply

